Tribute to Cunningham

Publikováno: 23.9.2014

Music and dance performance for the 50th anniversary of the Merce Cunningham Dance Company perfomance in the Czech Republic

in cooperation with National Moravian Silesian Theatre and National Theatre in Prague

September 24, 2014 18:30, Antonín Dvořák Theatre, Ostrava
September 28, 2014 20:00, Nová scéna, National Theatre, Prague

Concept and project idea: Jiří Nekvasil, Daniel Squire and Petr Kotík
Choreography: Daniel Squire 
Dancers of the National Moravian-Silesian Theatre with Daniel Squire (New York / London) and Nicole Morel (Cologne)
Ostravská banda, Joseph Kubera (Piano), conducted by Petr Kotík

These then were the perverse – perverse s the werd – steps he deveyesed
Music: Toshi Ichiyanagi: Activities for Orchestra (1961/15 minutes)

Music: Christian Wolff: Music for Merce Cunningham (1959/20 minutes)

Music: John Cage: Concert for Piano and Orchestra (1958/25 minutes)

In 1964, Merce Cunningham and The Merce Cunningham Dance Company (MCDC), John Cage, David Tudor, and Robert Rauschenberg, performed in the Czech Republic, in Ostrava and Prague. Their visit had a major impact on the Czech art scene, especially on dance and music. The Czech musicians, members of Musica viva pragensis who performed with the MCDC were organized by Petr Kotik and Rudolf Komorous. They formed an orchestra that performed under Cages direction. This event started a long association and collaboration Kotik and Cage that lasted until Cages death in 1992.

The National Moravian-Silesian Theatre (NMST) in Ostrava in collaboration with the National Theater Prague is planning to commemorate this 50th anniversary by recreating a music and dance performance in the style of the Cunningham-Cage collaboration. In keeping with the commemorative theme, the dates of the performances will be exactly fifty years from their original: September 24 2014, Ostrava and 28, Prague. The performance will take place in NMSTs flagship Antonín Dvořák Theatre in Ostrava and at the “Nová scéna” stage at the ND in Prague.

Both performances by the international chamber orchestra Ostravská banda will include John Cages Concert for Piano and Orchestra, one of the pieces performed in 1964. The soloist will be Joseph Kubera from New York, also a long-time collaborator of John Cage and David Tudor. The other pieces on the program are by Christian Wolff and Toshi Ichiyanagi, whose pieces were also performed in Prague in 1964. Ostravská banda will be working with Daniel Squire, an 11-year veteran of the MCDC, to choreograph the dance part of the performance.




Phone: +420 596 203 426
© Copyright 2020 Ostrava Center for New Music
Created by