S.E.M. Ensemble is looking back and onward

Publikováno: 18.12.2018

December 19, 2018 | 8:00 pm | Paula Cooper Gallery | New York

Looking Back and Onwards
SEM in 1986 & 2018

Ben Neill: Horizonal (2018)
Petr Kotik: Wilsie Bridge (1986)
Ben Neill: Money Talk (1986)
Michael Schumacher: Variations (2017-18)
Miya Masaoka: States of Being and Becoming (2018)
Petr Kotik: Time and Density (Overture) (2014-18)

S.E.M. Ensemble
Petr Kotik, director/conductor

"The composer Petr Kotik, who founded the S.E.M. Ensemble in 1970, is among the foremost standard-bearers of an experimental-music tradition that originated with John Cage and his circle during the nineteen-fifties. Ben Neill, who has collaborated with S.E.M. for decades, represents another path: that of the performing composer whose works are infused with popular-music timbres and technologies. This year-end program examines the vibrant conversation between those approaches through vintage and recent pieces by Kotik and Neill. New works by Miya Masaoka and Michael J. Schumacher complete the bill." Steve Smith, The New Yorker

Tickets can be found here >>>



Phone: +420 596 203 426
E-mail: info@newmusicostrava.cz
© Copyright 2020 Ostrava Center for New Music
Created by web-evolution.cz