The World / No. 6

Publikováno: 3.6.2020

As of today's noon, we are launching the sixth video from The World series. Video and audio recordings by soloists and members of Ostravská banda (international chamber orchestra for contemporary music) are being made exclusively for OCNM. This week, piano will play the major role in our video. For the first time you will get the chance to hear one of the first Alois Hába's compositions, entitled Three Fugues for Piano, performed by Miroslav Beinhauer (CZ). The second interpret is one of the most respected performer of piano music of the 20th and 21st centuries, Daan Vandewalle (BE) who has been cooperating with OCNM regularly since 2007. As a contribution to our project, he provided us with two of his most recent recordings of pieces by John Cage and Morton Feldman. The last of the compositions shows an excerpt from Julius Eastman's Crazy Nigger, a piece that was performed during the last Ostrava Days (2019). Miroslav Beinhauer and Daan Vandewalle are joined by Joseph Kubera (USA) and Alexandr Starý (CZ). Program:

Alois Hába: Three Fugues for Piano (1918)
Miroslav Beinhauer, Piano
Premiere, 2020

John Cage: Dream (1948)
Morton Feldman: Piano Piece 1952
Daan Vandewalle, Piano
Premiere, 2020

Julius Eastman: Crazy Nigger (1979) /excerpt/
Joseph Kubera, Daan Vandewalle, Miroslav Beinhauer, Alexandr Starý, Pianos
Ostrava Days 2019

You can play the video below, or you can use this link where more information on the whole project and these particular compositions can be found: 


Check out the whole series:

No. 1: Petr Kotík, New York
No. 2: František Výrostko, Martin;   Daniel Havel, Prague
No. 3: Gergely Lukács, Budapest;   William Lang, New York
No. 4: Katalin Károlyi, Paris
No. 5: Gareth Davis, Amsterdam
No. 6: Miroslav Beinhauer, Ostrava;    Daan Vandewalle, Ghent



Phone: +420 596 203 426
© Copyright 2020 Ostrava Center for New Music
Created by