Ostravská banda at Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival

A Tribute to Christian Wolff

November 21, 2014
17:30 St. Paul Hall, Huddersfield, UK

Ostravská banda
Thomas Buckner, Baritone
Petr Kotík, Conductor

Christian Wolff: 37 Haiku
Petr Cígler: Über das farbige Licht der Doppelsterne
Martin Smolka: Autumn Thoughts
Christian Wolff: For Six or Seven Players (Music for Merce Cunningham)
Alex Mincek: Subito No 2 
Petr Kotík: Nine + 1 
Christian Wolff: Trust 

This concert honors the eightieth birthday of Christian Wolff with three of his major compositions: For Six or Seven Players (1959), 37 Haiku (2005) dedicated to Thomas Buckner, and Trust (2012) composed for Ostravská banda. The program also includes works composed for Ostravská banda by Petr CíglerPetr Kotik and Alex Mincek (who received the Guggenheim grant this year). On the program will also be a piece by Martin SmolkaAutumn Thoughts (2011). All compositions on the program will have British premiere.

The concert signifies a productive collaboration between Christian Wolff and Ostrava Center for New Music (which produces Ostravská banda). Wolff is one of the founding composers of Ostrava Days Institute and Festival and his continuous collaboration with Ostrava made possible for him to compose some of his major works, particularly pieces for large orchestra.

Formed in 2005 by Petr Kotik as the resident chamber orchestra for
the biennial Ostrava Days, Ostravská banda consists of young musicians from Europe and U.S. whose primary interest is the performance of new music. The repertoire is focused on music of today including works from the second half of the twentieth century. Apart from regular performances at Ostrava Days festivals, Ostravská banda performs and tours at such venues as the Paris Conservatoire, Carnegie Hall and Lincoln Center in New York, Akademie der Künste in Berlin, Vredenburg Music Centre in Utrecht, musicadhoy festival in Madrid, Prague Spring festival and Ensemble Europa series at WDR Cologne, to
name a few.

The concert of Ostravská banda at Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival is made possible with support from the City of Ostrava, Czech Centre London, Phaedrus Foundation New York and individual donors to Ostrava Center for New Music.



Phone: +420 596 203 426
E-mail: info@newmusicostrava.cz
© Copyright 2020 Ostrava Center for New Music
Created by web-evolution.cz