26.6.2020, 18:30, Pavilon G

One-act opera for 3 soloists, orchestra and choir, 2010
▸▸▸ second performance on June 27

Music and libretto: Salvatore Sciarrino

Conductor: Lilianna Krych
Director: Pia Partum 
Stage / Light / Costume design: Magdalena Maciejewska
Choreography: Agnieszka Dmochowska
Video: Ola Ołdak

Anna Radziejewska, mezzosoprano (Woman)
Jan Jakub Monowid, countertenor (Young Man / Distant Voice)
Sebastian Szumski, baritone (Passer-by / Policeman)
TBA, dancer

Canticum OstravaJurij Galatenko (choirmaster)
Ostravská banda

Czech premiere, 90 min

In Italian with Czech and English subtitles.

Salvatore Sciarrino’s Superflumina, based on a novel by Elizabeth Smart, is set in a large train station – a site of collective flux and roaming. The audience is part of the crowd, but at the same time lonely. The station is a place of intense noise, and a gathering place for the homeless. The protagonist of Superflumina is a woman, most likely homeless, who gets lost and suffers through a painful night. She speaks in riddles; no one wants to hear her out and no one understands her. The audience only finds out mere fragments of her stories and encounters. The composer’s muse, mezzosoprano Anna Radziejewska, who excelled two years ago at NODO in Sciarrino’s Luci mie traditrici, will take up the major role of Woman who finds herself lost and lonely amidst the hurrying crowd. Sciarrino comments on his opera: “Loneliness is nothing but the surface of abandonment. It causes deep scars which are invisible and whose traces have already disappeared: And yet each of us can break out into such a cry at any moment.”

Salvatore Sciarrino (1947) began composing when he was twelve. He was self-taught and held his first public concert in 1962. Sciarrino found his original musical language – based on an enriched palette of instrumental sounds, extreme dynamic changes, very soft sounds at the edge of silence with suggestive repetitions of several simple characteristic elements – very early. He has written many compositions, and for many years he has been among the biggest “stars” of contemporary music. In addition to authoring most of his operas’ librettos, Sciarrino has written a number of articles, essays, and texts of various genres, some of which have been chosen and collected in Carte da suono (2001). Particularly important is his interdisciplinary book about musical form, Le Figure Della Musica Da Beethoven a Oggi (1998). Ostrava Days festival and New Opera Days Ostrava (NODO) have presented numerous compositions by Sciarrino, including his operas Infinito neroLa porta della legge, and Luci mie traditrici



Phone: +420 596 203 426
© Copyright 2020 Ostrava Center for New Music
Created by