The Man in a Space Suit

29.8.2020, 20:30, Compress Hall (Hlubina Coal Mine)

Multi-genre opera, 2019


Music and libretto: Miro Tóth

Libretto and dramaturgy: Michaela Rosová
Director: Jan Komárek
Stage & Costume Design: Lenka Kucháreková
Light Design: Jan Komárek
Sound & Electronics: Miro Tóth
Video: Miro Tóth, Viera Čakányová

Andrea Miltner, Woman on the Moon
Pasi Mäkelä, The Man in a Space Suit
Mikuláš Havrila, Peter Magyar, Peter Szeifert, Trombones
Márton Csernoszky, Bass Guitar
Alexandr Starý, Cembalo

Czech Premiere, 60 min

In Slovak language

The video opera Man in a Spacesuit is a multi-genre performance about an American cosmonaut with Slovak roots. We could include this production in the "extinct" genre of dramatic opera: Planet Earth is destroyed, humanity has relocated to the Moon. After many years, suddenly one person decides to return to planet Earth - he packs his flag and sets out on a journey to find his roots. But what is he looking for? And what can he ever find on this long-abandoned planet? The visually and acoustically impressive Man in a Spacesuit is loosely inspired by the story of Eugene Andrew Cernan, an astronaut with Czechoslovakian roots, who repeatedly visited the land of his ancestors and to whom the museum in Vysoká nad Kysucou is dedicated. The composer and librettist is Miroslav Tóth. The work was created under the banner of the cultural platform Project Batyskaf in co-production with Orchestra BERG. The creation of the work was financially supported by Slovak Arts Council.

Miroslav Tóth (1981) is a composer and saxophonist hailing from Bratislava. He finished his PhD studies at HAMU in Prague under Michal Rataj and his master studies at VŠMU in Bratislava under Vladimír Godár (for the first three years he studied under Jevgenij Iršaj). He was mentored by Ilja Zelenka at the beginning of his compositional studies. He is also a graduate of musicology at the Comenius University in Bratislava. Tóth is the author of the one-act opera Mystery of a Bar, the opera A Miraculous Bar for Clerks in Public Institutions, three video operas – A Tooth for a Tooth,Eye for an Eye and The Pole, and an unfinished opera Outpark. His composition The Quartet of Tentacles Reaching Out was performed by Kronos Quartet. Furthermore, he wrote the composition Theory of Absolute Sadness for soprano and orchestra, the cabaret suite BallOnAir and Requiem for Mafioso for a cappella choir and contra tenor. In 2018, he won a Radio_Head award for his electroacoustic composition Kyberpunkomša (Cyber-Punk-Ceremony). He is a member of the bands Shibuya Motors, Thisnis, Frozen Wigwam, and Funeral Marching Band. As a saxophonist, singer and soundpainting conductor, he focuses on free improvisation, graphic scores that overlap with the visual sphere, and on works with some degree of openness. He has composed the music to several feature films and regularly collaborates with Ivan Ostrochovský and Robert Kirchhoff.




Phone: +420 596 203 426
© Copyright 2020 Ostrava Center for New Music
Created by