Orchestra Opening

25.8.2019, 19:00, Triple Hall Karolina


ONO / Ostrava New Orchestra
Ondřej Vrabec, French Horn
Séverine Ballon, Cello
Daan Vandewalle, Piano
Gareth L. Davis, Bass Clarinet
Johannes Kalitzke, Petr Kotík, Bruno Ferrandis, Conductors

Marc Sabat: The Luminiferous Aether (2018)
Petr Cígler: Concert for French Horn and Orchestra (2019) WP
James Layton*: Focal (2019)
Michal Rataj: MOVIS (2019) WP
Chaya Czernowin: Guardian (2017)
Bernhard Lang: "DW28 Loops for Davis" (2017)

WP = world premiere
*resident of the Ostrava Days 2019 Institute

The Sunday concert will present works for large orchestra and soloists. The program includes a wide array of composers, soloists and conductors living and working throughout the world: compositions by Austrian composer Bernhard Lang, Harvard University’s American-Israeli professor Chaya Czernowin (her first appearance at OD), and Canadian microtonal composer Marc Sabat. The concert will also feature two world premieres from Czech composers: Petr Cígler’s French horn concerto, and Michal Rataj’s piano concerto (both accompanied by large orchestra). The program will also present a composition by the 22-year old English composer James Layton, a student at Trinity Laban Conservatory in London. He is one of 35 students at this year’s Ostrava Days Institute. As for the soloists, pianist Daan Vandewalle will return, and for the first time we welcome cellist Séverine Ballon from Paris. The French Horn solo in Petr Cígler’s piece will be performed by Ondřej Vrabec. Bernhard Lang’s piece for bass clarinet and large orchestra will feature the London virtuoso Gareth L. Davis, to whom it is dedicated. The international orchestra of young musicians ONO/Ostrava New Orchestra will be conducted by Bruno Ferrandis from Paris, Johannes Kalitzke from Cologne, and Petr Kotík.

Subject to change.



Phone: +420 596 203 426
E-mail: info@newmusicostrava.cz
© Copyright 2019 Ostrava Center for New Music
Created by web-evolution.cz