Ostravska banda I

26.8.2019, 19:00, Triple Hall Karolina


Anna Radziejewska, Mezzo-soprano
Lilianna Krych, Petr Kotík, Johannes Kalitzke, Conductors

Symon Henry*: debout, un respir grand comme (2016)
Ian Davis*: Two Movements for String Orchestra (2018)
Salvatore Sciarrino: Il cantiere del poema (2011)
Daniel Lo*: POIDS (2019)
Christian Wolff: Small Orchestra Piece (2019) WP
Isabel Mundry: Endless Sediments (2018)

WP = world premiere
* = residents of the Ostrava Days 2019 Institute

As usual, the program for Ostravská banda’s first concert at Ostrava Days 2019 will offer compositions by young residents of the Ostrava Days Institute, as well as music by some of the most distinguished composers of our times. The program will feature works by Salvatore Sciarrino, Christian Wolff, and the German composer Isabel Mundry (first time at Ostrava Days). The programs at Ostrava Days Festival do not distinguish between student composers from masters. This lack of hierarchy allows for an atmosphere of spontaneity, a lively scene full of energy created when three generations work side by side. Ostravská banda have been named one of the world’s leading ensembles for contemporary music by critics worldwide. At last year’s NODO opera festival in Ostrava (NODO alternates with Ostrava Days each year) the performance of a Sciarrino opera, directed by conductor Lilianna Krych with mezzo-soprano Anna Radziejewska made an enormous impression. We asked Ms. Radziejewska to return to sing the Czech premiere of Sciarrino’s Il cantiere del poema.

Subject to change.



Phone: +420 596 203 426
E-mail: info@newmusicostrava.cz
© Copyright 2019 Ostrava Center for New Music
Created by web-evolution.cz