Voices in the Cathedral I

27.8.2019, 19:00, Cathedral of the Divine Saviour


Ostravská banda

Canticum Ostrava
Jurij Galatenko, Choirmaster
Klaus Lang, Organ
Bruno Ferrandis, Conductor

György Ligeti: Lux Aeterna (1966)
Peter Graham: 
Fantasy for Six Violoncellos (1974)
Judith Berkson*: Partial Memories (Part III) (2019)
Anna Heflin*: My Voice (2019) WP
Georgina Bowden*: The Fainting Sun (2018)
Vojtěch Šembera*: Night Soundscape (2016)
Klaus Lang: Die Bärtige Frau (2010)

WP = world premiere
* = residents of Ostrava Days 2019 Institute

Fantasy for Six Violoncellos
 (1974) by Peter Graham is Graham’s only early composition in which he uses graphic notation. In Lux Aeterna, György Ligeti explores the timbral possibilities of a mixed choir by means of micropolyphony and clusters. The Cathedral of the Divine Saviour will provide a suitable setting for this work. Klaus Lang, who is also an organist, utilizes the concept of “audible time” when composing. This idea is apparent in his composition Die bärtige Frau for organ and orchestra. The program will also feature new works by Ostrava Days Institute residents Anna Heflin, Georgina Bowden, Vojtěch Šembera and Judith Berkson. Over the course of the evening, compositions for voice will be interspersed with instrumental music, and compositions of established authors will alternate with the works of emerging composers.

Subject to change.



Phone: +420 596 203 426
E-mail: info@newmusicostrava.cz
© Copyright 2019 Ostrava Center for New Music
Created by web-evolution.cz