String Quartet Night

29.8.2019, 19:00, BrickHouse, Hlubina Coal Mine


Quatuor Bozzini, Montréal
Slavíková Quartet, Ostrava

Carlos Soria*: Visiones Post-Mortem (2018) WP
Magdalena Johanna Beyer: Music of the Spheres (1938)
Ana Sokolovic: Commedia dell'arte (2012)

Christian Wolff: Out of Kilter (String Quartet; 2019) WP
Petr Kotík: String Quartet No. 1 (2007-2009)

Lucie Vítková*: NINE (2018)
Devin Maxwell*: Cloudseeding 10 (2018)
James Helgeson*: String Quartet (2016-18)

WP = world premiere
*residents of the Ostrava Days 2019 Institute

After more than 10 years, Bozzini Quartet returns to Ostrava. This concert will feature the world premiere of Christian Wolff’s string quartet Out of Kilter, whichwas commissioned by Bozzini Quartet and is dedicated to its players. The quartet will also perform Music of the Spheres by the German-American composer Johanna Magdalena Beyer (1888–1944) from 1938. It is a pioneering work that combines instruments and electronics, though Beyer remains relatively unknown today despite her innovations. Bozzini will also perform Petr Kotík’s String Quartet No. 1 and Commedia dell’arte II by the Canadian-Serbian composer Ana Sokolović. Program includes also compositions by resident-students of the Ostrava Days Institute which will be performed not only by Quatuor Bozzini but also by a brand new quartet named after its founder, a violinist Pavla Slavíková.

In cooperation with:

The concert is supported by:


Subject to change.



Phone: +420 596 203 426
© Copyright 2019 Ostrava Center for New Music
Created by