Piano Piano Kudu

28.8.2019, 20:30, BrickHouse, Hlubina Coal Mine


Ostravská banda
Frederic Rzewski, Piano
Daan Vandewalle, Piano
Miroslav Beinhauer, Piano
Conrad Harris, Violin
Alvin Curran, Yemenite Kudu Horn

Petr Kotík: Spontano (for Frederic Rzewski; 1964)
Frederic Rzewski: Satires (2015)
Frederic Rzewski: 6 Movements (2019) *world premiere
Petr Bakla: No. 4 (2013)
Alvin Curran: Shofar Rags (2019) *world premiere

This concert is devoted to the music of Federic Rzewski, Alvin Curran and Petr Kotík, complemented by a composition by Petr Bakla. It could be noted that all four of these composers create music that is outside of the mainstream. Kotík and Rzewski met in the early 60s. Kotík composed Spontano for solo piano and 10 instruments around this time and dedicated it to Rzewski. This will be Rzewski’s first performance of the piece. Rzewski will also perform his piano composition 6 Movements, while his piece Satires will be performed by violinist Conrad Harris from New York, and pianist Daan Vadewalle from Gent. Curran and Rzewski met in Rome in the mid 60s in Rome as fellows of the American Academy in Rome. There, they formed the group Musica Elettronica Viva with mostly other fellows. Petr Bakla was added to the program as an example of a younger generation of musical outsider. The evening will conclude with a new work by Alvin Curran, who will perform on the Yemeni kudu horn with electronics.

Subject to change.



Phone: +420 596 203 426
E-mail: info@newmusicostrava.cz
© Copyright 2019 Ostrava Center for New Music
Created by web-evolution.cz