Ostravská banda I

23.8.2021, 19:00, Triple Hall Karolina


Ostravská banda
Irena Troupová, soprano
Hana Kotková, violin
Gareth Davis, bass clarinet
Chris Nappi, vibraphone
Roland Dahinden, Bruno Ferrandis, Petr Kotík, Jiří Rožeň, Ondřej Vrabec, conductors

Luboš Mrkvička: For Large Ensemble, Part F (2020–2021) WP
Jan Jirucha: Diagonal nr. 1 (2021) WP
Ana Sokolović: Evta (2017)
Roland Dahinden: recall pollock (2021) WP
Miro Tóth: Theory of Absolute Saddness (2018) WP

Iannis Xenakis: Persephassa (1969)

WP = World Premiere

Ostravská banda is a perfect chamber orchestra for the interpretation of new and experimental music. It is composed of phenomenal instrumentalists who have been committed to the performance of contemporary music throughout their careers, while being sufficiently “flexible” to be capable of adapting to any composer’s vision. Therefore, it is no coincidence that many works have been composed specifically for this ensemble over the years. This concert’s program is very broad and will offer mainly new works by various composers. There will be pieces by three Czech (or Czechoslovak) composers: Luboš Mrkvička, Miro Tóth, and Jan Jirucha (a resident of this year's Institute). There will also be a new piece by Swiss composer and trombonist Roland Dahinden. Composer Ana Sokolović will personally participate in her violin concerto Evta. Finally, the extraordinary musical imagination of Iannis Xenakis will be on full display in his composition Persephassa for six percussionists. For the first time, conductor Jiří Rožeň will lead Ostrava Day’s resident chamber orchestra.





Phone: +420 596 203 426
E-mail: info@newmusicostrava.cz
© Copyright 2022 Ostrava Center for New Music
Created by web-evolution.cz