Ostravská banda at Archa

Sunday, November 20, 2016 / 8:00 PM
Archa Theater / Prague


Ostravská banda
Hana Kotková, violin
Daan Vandewalle, piano
Petr Kotík, Johannes Kalitzke, conductors

Christian Wolff: Trust (2012)
Alban Berg: Kammerkonzert (1923–25)
Petr Kotík: Nine + 1 (2013)
Salvatore Sciarrino: Allegoria della notte (1985)

Ostravská banda, one of the leading chamber orchestras on the “new music” scene, returns to Archa after three years to perform under the ensembles co-founder Petr Kotík and under Johannes Kalitzke, who also works with Ensemble recherche, Klangforum Wien and especially musikFabrik, which he co-founded.

Alban Berg’s forty-minute double concerto for piano, violin and winds (1925) constitutes one of the most demanding compositions of the 20th century and has never been performed in Prague. Berg dedicated his Kammerkonzert to Arnold Schönberg on the occasion of Schönbergs 50th birthday.

Christian Wolffs Trust and Petr Kotíks Nine+1 were both composed for Ostravská bandas concert in Cologne in 2013, which took place as part of Westdeutscher Rundfunks “Ensemble Europa” concert series.

Salvatore Sciarrinos Allegoria della notte (1985) is, at its heart, a concerto for violin and chamber orchestra; Hana Kotková first played it at Ostrava Days 2015. Sciarrino is the greatest “star” of contemporary classical music and Ostravská banda is the only orchestra in the Czech Republic to systematically engage with his oeuvre.


Quality-wise, the superb Ostravská banda proved a real revelation.
Il Corriere Musicale / August 8, 2016

But what was most impressive about the festival was Ostravská banda itself. Kotík’s ensemble plays modern music with amazing dedication; the resulting events are thrilling and unmatched in this country.
Hospodářské noviny / July 2, 2014

Ostravská banda managed a perfect rendition of Sciarrino’s haunting yet precisely composed night [his Lohengrin opera].
Neue Zeitschrift für Musik / November 1, 2013

[Comparing with the New York Philharmonic:] Under Kotík and Vandewalle, the music of Ligeti’s Concerto for Piano and Orchestra is clearer, makes more sense, breathes with more musicality and humor, and is simply even more interesting and enjoyable.
New York Times / April 16, 2011

The concert takes place with the support of the Czech Ministry of Culture, Statutory City of Ostrava, Goethe-Institut Prag and German Embassy in Prague

Main media partners: Český rozhlas Vltava, Unijazz

Media partners: Opera Plus, HIS Voice, Fullmoon, Harmonie, Art & Antiques, Headliner, Radio 1

Organized by Ostrava Center for New Music and Archa Theatre

The day before the concert at Archa, on November 19, 7:00 PM, Forum Karlín will host Ostrava Center’s Space & Sound evening, which includes legendary Gruppen by Karlheinz Stockhausen and other compositions for three separate orchestras.