Essential Changes: A concert of major changes in music. Streaming live from Prague!

Publikováno: 10.5.2021

Ostrava, May 10, 2021 – The Ostrava Center for New Music is preparing another major concert in their “Essential” series at the DOX Center for Contemporary Art in Prague. After two successful concerts dedicated to the works of one composer – Morton Feldman in 2018 and Iannis Xenakis in 2019 – this event will focus on the fundamental changes in musical expression as seen in the works of John Cage, La Monte Young, Petr Kotík, and members of the FLUXUS movement Yoshi Wada and Benjamin Patterson.

Ivo Kahánek, piano
Irena Troupová, soprano
Ostravská banda
Petr Kotík, conductor 

June 7th, 7:30 pm (EST)
Multifunctional Hall DOX+, Prague 

The concert will be streamed live on OCNM‘s YouTubeFacebook and Instagram pages.

In 1934, when Arnold Schönberg told his student John Cage that Cage’s problems with the traditional concept of composition would stand in his way like a wall, the 22-year-old Cage replied, "Okay, then I'll be pounding my head on that wall my whole life." His Concert for Piano and Orchestra (1957–1958) is based on a completely non-traditional relationship between soloist and orchestra. There are no motifs or thematic work and there is no score – the work is a collection of individual parts that are played independently of each other. The piece leaves no room for a soloist to demonstrate their virtuosity, who in this case will be world-famous pianist Ivo Kahánek.

La Monte Young works with very simple musical material. His now legendary Composition 1960 # 7influenced the music scene of the 1960s, including the works of Cage and his followers, as well as the minimalist movement. 

Like John Cage, Petr Kotík's compositions avoid traditional harmony and form. Since the early 1960s, hiscompositions have dealt with the concepts of music and time in novel ways. In 1964, he began to collaborate with John Cage; five years later, after his arrival in the USA, Kotík also began collaborating with La Monte Young and Ben Patterson. By the early 1970s, Kotík was composing using a method of pulsating tempo / time without determining a beginning or end – he also used this method in his 2004 piece The Plains at Gordium. In addition to the six percussionists of the Ostravská banda, soprano Irena Troupová will perform.

Benjamin Patterson and Yoshi Wada are two important members of the FLUXUS movement, which was based on the rejection of the traditional concept of artistic creation. Their efforts to break these persisting norms were reflected not only in their music, but in the presentation and conception of their works. One of the impulses for the emergence of the FLUXUS movement was a series of lectures that John Cage gave at The New School in New York from 1958-59. Compositions / happenings by Patterson and Wada will open and close the concert.

June 7th, 2021
7:30 PM (EST) @ DOX – Centre for Contemporary Art (Prague)

Ivo Kahánek, piano
Irena Troupová, soprano
Ostravská banda and guests
Petr Kotík, conductor

Yoshi Wada: Lip Vibrators (1973)
John Cage: Concert for Piano and Orchestra (1957–58)
Petr Kotík: The Plains at Gordium (2004)
La Monte Young: Composition 1960 #7 (1960)
Benjamin Patterson: Paper Piece (1960)

Program subject to change

Information and press materials:
Kristýna Konczyna, Ostrava Center for New Music, email:,
tel: +420 777 613 184

Where to find us:
YouTube: newmusicostrava
Facebook: ocnhOva
Instagram: ocnh




Phone: +420 596 203 426
© Copyright 2022 Ostrava Center for New Music
Created by