Jan Souček

Born in 1983, he began to play the oboe at age of ten with V. Hanuš, later he continued his studies on the Prague Conservatory with F. X. Thuri. During his studies at the Academy of Performing Arts in Prague with Jana Brožková, he passed an intership on CNSM in Lyon with J.-L. Capezzali and J. Guichard. Jan is laureate of competitions in Lodz (2005, 1st prize) and Prague Spring (2008, 3rd prize), and semifinalist of competitions in Karuizawa (2006) and Geneve (2010). He appeared as soloist on stage with various national orchestras, performing concertos by Mozart, Martinů, Pasculli and Zimmermann. In 2001 he was a member of Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester, from 2006 until now he plays as solo-oboe the Prague Philharmonia.  With a great affection in chamber music, he performs regularly with pianist Miloslava Machová, and the Arundo wind trio, which was awarded the prize of Czech Chamber Music Society in 2011. With the Belfiato Quintet he was awarded a 3rd prize on the "Henri Tomasi" Wind Quintet Competition in Marseille. He is regularly invited to play with Ensemble Prague Modern and Ostravska Banda, both focusing on contemporary music. 



Phone: +420 596 203 426
E-mail: info@newmusicostrava.cz
© Copyright 2022 Ostrava Center for New Music
Created by web-evolution.cz